Texas Writer Award

The Texas Writer Award, formerly known as the Bookend Award, is given to a Texas writer in recognition of outstanding contributions to Texas literature. The award recipient is honored at the Texas Book Festival.


Texas Writer Award Recipients:

2015: Pat Mora

Pat Mora


2014: Sarah Bird

Sarah Bird -- Photo small







2013: Steven Weinberg

Weinberg, Steven Photo Small


2012: Tim O’Brien



2011: Stephen Harrigan and Larry Wright

Stephen Harrigan Larry Wright


2010: H.W. Brands

Brands, Bill 2009


2009: Rick Riordan

Rick Riordan


2008: Robert Caro

Robert Caro 2002


2007: Dagoberto Gilb, Rolando Hinojosa-Smith

Dagoberto_Gilb Rolando_Hinojosa_Smith


2006: Louis Sachar, Mike Levy, Bill Broyles, Greg Curtis, Evan Smith

Sachar, Louis - Insert Bill Broyles Greg Curtis Evan_Smith


2005: Sandra Cisneros, T.R. Fehrenbach, Cormac McCarthy

Sandra Cisneros 8483_fehrenbach_tr Cormac McCarthy by Derek Shapton


2004: Mary Margaret Farabee, Larry L. King, Walt McDonald

 Larry L. King walt mcdonald


2003: Shelby Hearon, Elmer Kelton

Shelby_Hearon Elmer Kelton


2002: Bud Shrake, Bill Wittliff

shrake.bud Bill Wittliff -- Photo small


2001: Dr. William Goetzmann, Stanley Marcus

 Stanley Marcus


2000: John Graves



1999: Horton Foote