The Annual Kirkus Prize Ceremony: Live
5:00 pm - 6:00 pm
Thursday, November 5, 2020

The Kirkus Prize is one of the richest literary awards in the world, with a prize of $50,000 bestowed annually to authors of fiction, nonfiction and young readers’ literature. It was created to celebrate the 85+ years of discerning, thoughtful criticism Kirkus Reviews has contributed to both the publishing industry and readers at large. Books that earn the Kirkus Star with publication dates between November 1, 2019 to October 31, 2020 are, with few exceptions, automatically nominated for the 2020 Kirkus Prize. Six finalists in each of three categories were announced on Wednesday, September 9, 2020. The Kirkus Prize judges will select three winners on Thursday, November 5, 2020.

Five books featured at Texas Book Festival this year are included among the finalists:

  • FictionFiebre Tropical, Juli Delgado Lopera
  • NonfictionStakes Is High, Mychal Denzel Smith
  • NonfictionCaste, Isabel Wilkerson
  • Young Readers’ Literature: Clap When You Land, Elizabeth Acevedo
  • Young Readers’ Literature: I Am Every Good Thing, Derrick Barnes & Gordon C. James

At 5:00 p.m. CT, click the red RSVP button here to visit YouTube, where the 2020 awards ceremony will be live-streamed, with Kirkus CEO Meg LaBorde Kuehn hosting from the Austin Central Library.


Featured books