2018 First Edition Literary Gala Authors

By on

It is with great pleasure that we announce the 2018 First Edition Literary Gala authors! The 2018 Gala will take place on Friday, October 26 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Austin and will feature authors Celeste Ng, Michael Beschloss, Luis Alberto Urrea, and Jacqueline Woodson. The Gala emcee will be Jake Silverstein, editor-in-chief of The New York Times Magazine.

The First Edition Literary Gala is always a memorable evening, packed with literary luminaries, dignitaries, and cultural arts supporters who come together to help the Texas Book Festival make an impact in communities across Texas. Proceeds from the Gala allow us to keep the Festival Weekend free for everyone! Generous donors also fund our Reading Rock Stars Literacy Program, which provides author visits and book donations to children in low-income schools, our Texas Public Library Grants, issued each spring to selected libraries across the state, and literary programming throughout the year.

Be sure to catch all four authors in conversations at the Texas Book Festival October 27-28, 2018. Their Festival events are free and open to the public! 


Celeste Ng: Award-winning author of Everything I Never Told You, a New York Times bestseller, Amazon’s #1 Best Book of 2018, winner of the Massachusetts Book Award and the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature. Her debut novel, Everything I Never Told You, follows the Chinese-American Lee family in 1970s small-town Ohio where the death of the favorite middle child throws the family into chaos. Ng’s new novel, Little Fires Everywhere, has been named a Best Book of the Year by NPR, Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and has become an instant New York Times Bestseller. Little Fires Everywhere takes the reader back to suburban Ohio where the prim and proper hierarchy of Shaker Heights is threatened by the arrival of an enigmatic single mother and her daughter.

Michael Beschloss: Award-winning author and acclaimed historian Beschloss has recieved six honorary degrees as well as the 2005 News and Documentary Emmy for the Discovery Channel’s Decisions that Shook the World. Newsweek has called him “the nation’s leading presidential historian” and he is the NBC News Presidential Historian as well as a contributor on PBS’s NewsHour. Beschloss’s newest work, Presidents of War, begins with James Madison and the War of 1812 and traces the history of leaders who have taken our country into conflict. Presidents of War has been ten years in the making and has a rich foundation in primary sources ranging from original letters, diaries, and once-classified national security documents.

Luis Alberto Urrea: Award-winning author and poet Luis Alberto Urrea is a member of the Latino Literature Hall of Fame, winner of an American Academy of Arts and Letters Award and is described by NPR as a “literary badass.” His short story collection, The Water Museum, was named a best book of the year by the Washington Post and Kirkus Reviews. Urrea is best known as a border writer, being born in Tijuana to a Mexican father and American mother. He is the author of 17 books, dabbling in poetry, fiction and essays. His newest work, The House of Broken Angels, tells the story of an American family with Mexican origins that gathers for one last birthday celebration in honor of Angel de la Cruz.

Jacqueline Woodson: Award-winning author and recipient of the National Book Award for her book Brown Girl Dreaming, Woodson is also the National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature, the winner of the Coretta Scott King Award, the Newbery Honor Medal, the Caldecott Medal, and the Poetry Foundation’s Young People’s Poet Laureate among others. Woodson has recently released the book Harbor Me which focuses on issues of race, immigration, and incarceration from the perspective of six troubled students. Harbor Me is a refreshing story that emphasizes the power of communication and community to heal.

For more information about the Gala, please contact Claire Burrows at claire@texasbookfestival.org or 512-477-4055. Sponsor levels and silent auction donation information can be found on the 2018 First Edition Literary Gala page.