16th Annual Youth Fiction Writing Contest

 This year marks the 16th annual Fiction Writing Contest. The theme for this year is “Note to Self”.


Texas Book Festival 2015 SaturdayHosted by the Texas Book Festival and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement (DDCE) at the University of Texas at Austin, the Fiction Writing Contest encourages and rewards creative writing in Texas schools. Junior and high school Texas students are invited to submit a piece of original fiction, no more than 2,000 words in length. The submissions are judged by Texas Book Festival authors, local educators, and leaders in the publishing industry.

Each year the Festival provides a unique theme. Judges look for excellence in use of dialogue, character development, setting, plot, conflict, and resolution. Submitted entries are considered in three divisions: grades 7-8; grades 9-10; and grades 11-12.

Texas Book Festival 2015 SaturdayWinners receive a cash prize: $250 for first place, $100 for second, and $50 for third. In addition, winners are awarded a plaque, have their stories published on the TBF website, and are invited to participate on a panel during the Texas Book Festival weekend. The Texas Book Festival and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement provide accommodations for the first place winners and their family for one night. Finalists and semi-finalists in grades 9-12 also receive an invitation to a writing workshop at the Texas Book Festival hosted by  Austin Bat Cave.

How to Enter:

Read the official rules & submit your entry here.  The entry must fit the theme “Note to Self”.


2015 Theme: I Never Told You, But…

7th and 8th Grade Division

1st Place: “Sylvia” by Kyungmin (Kate) Lee

2nd Place: “Masked” by  Shelby Cumings

3rd Place: “The Inhumans” by Lily Newsom


9th and 10th Grade Division

1st Place: “Masked Papers” by Vanessa Aguirre

2nd Place: “Walter Wilder, Age Eight” by Coggin Galbreath

3rd Place: “Blue-Green Sea” by Niraja Surendran


11th and 12th Grade Division

1st Place: “The Exquisite Art of Letting Go” by Tiffany Wang

2nd Place: “Lucky No. 11″ by Anjali Sridharan

3rd Place: “Auburn Leaves” by Talia Flores




View past winners and their stories.