2015 Festival Schedule

10:00 AM — 11:00 AM Saturday

10 AM Saturday

Together, They Could

Cynthia Levinson
Winifred Conkling

+ My Schedule

10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Writers must navigate tricky ground when writing about living people who have a real stake in how they are portrayed in a book. But when a writer is addressing an entire civil rights movement (and is the case in both of the books featured in this session), the stakes are even higher. Join us during this session as Cynthia Levinson and one of the people she's written about, James W. Stewart, and Tomás Rivera Award winner Winifred Conkling and one of her subjects, Sylvia Mendez, talk about their work together.

Moderator Chris Barton is the author of the young adult nonfiction thriller Can I See Your I.D.? True Stories of False Identities, named a 2012 Quick Pick for Reluctant Young Readers by the Young Adult Library Services Association. He's also the author of the picture book Shark vs. Train, a New York Times and Publishers Weekly bestseller. His first book, The Day-Glo Brothers, received a 2010 Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Honor from the American Library Association.